Classes de maitre

Master Class

TITLE: Augmented Reality for Everyone

Augmented reality, virtual reality, mixed reality … these terms have indeed become an inevitable reality! However, creating these kinds of experiences can be tricky, given that most creation tools available are either simple to use but with limited options, or more complex with unlimited possibilities and requiring solid technical programming skills.

Zapworks bridges this gap between off-the-shelf and professional tools with a solution that successfully takes on the challenge of democratizing AR and VR creation. With Zapworks, novices can create AR experiences in just a few minutes, and technical experts can produce highly complex applications.

In this workshop, we will set aside the Zapworks Widgets and Zapworks Designer to focus on the Zapworks Studio development tool. Following an overview of the interface, you will learn how to build and share your AR and VR experiences.

This master class will be presented in French.


PRESENTER:

Jean Vouillon, professor and Multimedia Communication Programme coordinator at the Université de Saint-Boniface.


Jean Vouillon enseigne depuis 13 ans dans le programme Communication Multimédia de l’Université de Saint-Boniface. Passionné de nouvelles technologies, il a participé, dans le cadre de divers partenariats pan-canadiens, au développement de cours en ligne pour le programme Développement Web ainsi qu’à un projet d’échange d’expertises visant à développer l’usage des tablettes tactiles en enseignement. Il anime aussi régulièrement des ateliers et présentations dans le cadre des conférences Madlat (Manitoba Association for Distributed Learning and Teaching) sur des sujets tels que le développement mobile, la réalité augmentée, l’impression 3D, etc.

DESCRIPTION

Experience level and prerequisites:

None

Objectives

At the end of the class, participants will:

  • Be able to create and distribute a Zapworks application
  • Understand the Zapworks Studio interface
  • Know how to create a range of AR and VR experiences

During class, participants will have the opportunity to:

  • Create tracking images
  • Use scripts
  • Import and animate 3D models
  • Import and animate 360 panoramas
  • Create for Google Cardboard VR

Participants are asked to do the following ahead of the class:

  • Create a Zapworks account. Note: It is a free 30-day trial, so don't create it too far in advance of the class!
  • Download the Zapworks Studio application (for Mac or Windows)
  • Install the Zappar app on their smartphone or tablet
  • Download sample files from Dropbox

Intended audience

This class is for instructional designers as well as teachers interested in exploring the potential of AR and VR experiences for their classes.

Agenda: 1.5 Hours

0:00 – 0:05 Introduction
(approx. 5 min)
0:05 – 0:10 Zapworks workflow (approx. 5 min)
0:10 – 0:40 Project: tracking images and 3D models
  • Creating tracking images
  • Importing 3D models
  • Creating controllers and animation
  • Creating scripts

(approx. 30 min)
0:40 - 1:10 Project: Attitude Orient and 360 Panoramas
  • Using Attitude Orient
  • Adding Photo Sphere
  • Using Headset Manager

(approx. 30 min)
1:10 – 1:20 Presentation of advanced projects (approx. 10 min)
1:20 – 1:30 Q&A (approx. 10 min)

INFORMATION

Date: November 14, 2018
Time: 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (Pacific) / 10 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. (Mountain) / 11 a.m. to12:30 p.m. (Central) / 12 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. (Eastern) / 1 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. (Atlantic)
Duration : 1 h 30

REGISTRATION

Cost

Members: $25
Non-members: $50
Group: Registration of 10 participants from the same organization: $250

To register, e-mail the form below to cm-mc@accp-caid.org by November 9, 2018. The registration fee must be paid before access will be granted to the Master Class.

To access the registration form, click here.

Payment

Read the section on payment under “Membership” for information on payment options.

We hope you’ll join us!